Across Five Aprils by Irene Hunt (1964)

april.jpgAcross Five Aprils follows the Creighton family starting in April 1861, just as the American Civil War begins.  Over the next 4 years, young Jethro Creighton watches as  family members struggle how to serve or whether to serve at all.  Public opinion ebbs and flows as battles are won and lost, soldiers (including a member of Jethro’s family) desert and the casualties mount.

Will the war ever end?  Which side will win?  How many more loved ones will be lost?

Our family has been fascinated for years by the touching and heroic human stories that come out of the Civil War era.  Across Five Aprils, which was a Newbery Honor Book in 1965, brings the Civil War to life for your young readers.  Although fictitious, Across Five Aprils was carefully researched and is based on family stories told to the author by her grandfather.

Middle Grade Reading Level, 224 pages, Newbery Honor Book, published in 1964.


About kidsbooksworthreading

Are you looking for Children’s and Young Adult books that have stood the test of time? I have a master of list of over 600 titles to share. I’m an English major, mother of five and homeschooler for 15 years. My purpose with this blog is to share forgotten favorites that most parents today have never heard of, but are so worth reading! I hope you’ll join with me as I share the best that Youth Literature has to offer.
This entry was posted in Books for Boys, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Middle Grade Reading Level and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s