The Time Cat: The Remarkable Journeys of Jason and Gareth by Lloyd Alexander (1963)

cat.jpgThe Time Cat: The Remarkable Journeys of Jason and Garth   Young Jason is thrilled (and not completely surprised) to discover his cat Gareth can talk!  Like most of us, Jason had often heard that cats have nine lives, but Gareth sets the record straight.  He doesn’t have nine lives, but he can VISIT nine other lives.  WOW!

Together they decide visit ancient Rome, Britain, Ireland, Japan, Italy, Peru, The Isle of Man and America — all at key times in history, of course.

Lloyd Alexander is considered one of the finest children’s authors of all time.  When reading The Time Cat, you’ll learn a fair amount of exciting history with each chapter.


Middle Grade Reading Level, 240 pages, Published in 1963).

About kidsbooksworthreading

Are you looking for Children’s and Young Adult books that have stood the test of time? I have a master of list of over 600 titles to share. I’m an English major, mother of five and homeschooler for 15 years. My purpose with this blog is to share forgotten favorites that most parents today have never heard of, but are so worth reading! I hope you’ll join with me as I share the best that Youth Literature has to offer.
This entry was posted in Books for Boys, Fantasy, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Middle Grade Reading Level and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s