My Father’s Dragon Series by Ruth Stiles Gannett (1948 – 1951)


Elmer Elevator is a little boy who stows away on a ship to Wild Island to rescue a flying baby dragon in distress.   Like a young McGyver, he uses rubber bands, lollipops and chewing gum to accomplish his mission!  The story is sweet and campy, but young kids have loved it for decades!  I bet your children will too.

There are two more stand-alone books in this series.

My Father’s Dragon (1948), 80 pages

Elmer and the Dragon (1950), 96 pages

The Dragons of Blueland (1951), 112 pages


Early Grade Reading Level, 80 – 112 pages, Fantasy, Published 1948 – 1951.


About kidsbooksworthreading

Are you looking for Children’s and Young Adult books that have stood the test of time? I have a master of list of over 600 titles to share. I’m an English major, mother of five and homeschooler for 15 years. My purpose with this blog is to share forgotten favorites that most parents today have never heard of, but are so worth reading! I hope you’ll join with me as I share the best that Youth Literature has to offer.
This entry was posted in Books for Boys, Early Grade Reading Level, Fantasy, Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Father’s Dragon Series by Ruth Stiles Gannett (1948 – 1951)

  1. Lena says:

    One of our family’s favorites! Such a fun read aloud.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s